Biathlon Canada Announces World Cup Team for Trimester 1

Over 40 of Canada’s top biathletes gathered in Canmore, AB to compete to represent Canada on the World Cup Stage.  With all of the obstacles, and difficulties through this past year, Canada’s biathletes continued to train while adjusting to life in a global pandemic.  For many of those athletes it led to this moment, qualifying for the Canadian World Cup team.

Over three days of competition, five Male and Female athletes would be selected to head to Kontiolahti, Finland for the International Biathlon Union World Cup Opener.  With two of the male athletes Christian Gow and Scott Gow, as well as female athlete, Emma Lunder being pre qualified, it would mean only a select few athletes would be able to qualify through trials.  

With new Covid-19 protocols put in place to keep athletes, coaches, officials, volunteers, and staff safe, the athletes not only had to tackle the stress of racing, but the stress of a routine change, and extra steps.  Athletes had to wear masks at all times except while skiing or shooting, and were assigned to one lane that they used for zero and all shooting bouts. 

There was exceptional compliance to the new protocols and Biathlon Canada would like to thank everyone who made the event possible. 

The group departed for Finland on November 19th for a staging camp before the Season Opener on November 28 and 29. Biathlon Canada has worked with and continues to work with our sport partners, the International Biathlon Union, our chief medical officer, and regional/local/national authorities to create the safest environment possible for the team. Safety is our first priority.  

After Trials, the 10 athletes selected for World Cup Tour 1 include:


Scott Gow – Calgary AB, Rocky Mountain Racers

Christian Gow – Calgary AB, Rocky Mountain Racers

Adam Runnalls – Calgary AB, Calgary Biathlon Racers

Aidan Millar – Canmore AB, Canmore Nordic Ski Club

Jules Burnotte – Sherbrooke QC, Biathlon Estrie



Emma Lunder – Vernon BC, Rocky Mountain Racers

Megan Bankes – Calgary AB, Foothills Nordic 

Nadia Moser – Whitehorse YT, Biathlon Yukon

Sarah Beaudry – Prince George BC, Caledonia

Darya Sepandj – Calgary AB, Biathlon Alberta Training Centre


The team will be supported by staff members Justin Wadsworth, Head Coach; Pavel Lantsov, Shooting Coach; Félix Bérubé-Larochelle, Technician; Andrew Chisholm, Technician; Marc Couture, Technician; Raphael Grosset, Head Technician; and Lenka Popovska, Massage Therapist.