Latest News

At Home Testival 2020 Results

130 athletes from across Canada participated in one physical test and two shooting tests; a 3000m run, 600 Precision Test and the National Team Test. Athletes were able to test themselves against Canada's best, our Senior National Biathlon Team. Results were sent to Biathlon Canada to compile into one big competition. The two shooting tests were also combined to award Canada's best sharpshooters in each IBU race category, Christian Gow (Senior), Cedrick Wigger (Junior), Ethan Algra (Youth) and Anna Marino (Senior Girl/Boy).

Summer Professional Development Series

Please see the summer Professional Development Series attached.

Reminder: Sign up for the Biathlon Canada COVID-19 Risk Mitigation Webinar

Please join Biathlon Canada for a COVID-19 Risk Mitigation Webinar on Thursday, July 9th, 2020 at 10am PDT/ 11am MDT / 12pm CDT / 1pm EDT / 2pm ADT / 2:30pm NDT.

This webinar is targeted at both biathlon club and division leadership and will feature information on the following topics: Risk Mitigation, Insurance, Use of Waivers and Daily Attestations

Team Canada – Biathlon – FISU 2021 Winter Universiade Games -Lucerne/Lenzerheide, Switzerland

Take part in the FISU Games - January 21-31, 2021. Apply by July 19, 2020
The 30th Winter Universiade will take place in the city of Lucerne/Lenzerheide, Switzerland which is a city in central Switzerland, embedded within an impressive mountainous panorama with Rihi, Pilatus and Titlis. Situated in the German-speaking portion of the country Lucerne is the most populous town in central Switzerland with a population of approximately 82,000 people. The 2021 Winter Universiade is scheduled from January 21-31, 2021. The Universiade is every two years in various cities around the world. It is one of the largest winter multisport events worldwide, second only in size to the Olympic Games. The Games will take place over 11 days and will host 1600 athletes from more than 50 countries competing in 10 sports in 7 venues.

Thank you Brian Walters!

Brian Walters has retired as executive director of Biathlon Manitoba after 14 years. Thank you Brian!

2020-2021 North American/Canadian Competition Calendar

We look forward to the 2020-2021 competition season with exciting race opportunities that continue to build towards more meaningful competition for all.

Biathlon Canada Gender Equity Research Project

Biathlon Canada believes in equity amongst all individuals involved in the sport and community. Gender equity is one aspect that we strongly support and believe in.

As such, Biathlon Canada has engaged the Centre for Sport Capacity at Brock University to conduct a gender audit of the organization. A gender audit is a tool that is used to examine how gender is taken into consideration (or not) in all aspects of an organization, including its membership, programs, policies, and budgets.

Press release: Fluoro Ban North American wide

National Governing Body’s and National Sport Organizations (NGB/NSOs), and snow sport organizations from the United States and Canada today are announcing the formation of a Fluorocarbon Free Policy Working Group. With representation from U.S. Ski & Snowboard, USA Nordic, U.S. Biathlon, U.S. Paralympics Nordic Skiing, U.S. Paralympics Alpine Skiing, Alpine Canada, Canada Snowboard, Freestyle Canada, Nordiq Canada, Biathlon Canada, Nordic Combined Canada and Ski Jumping Canada in addition to industry wax representatives, the working group is tasked with setting policy to eliminate the use of fluorinated ski wax from all sanctioned levels of snow sports competition in North America beginning with the 2020-21 season.

Deadline EXTENDED: June 22nd, 2020. Domestic Committee – Call for nominations / applications

The Domestic Committee serves as an operational committee to support the General Manager as well as the Athlete Coach Development Manager (ACDM) in the development of biathlon across Canada.

BIATHLON CANADA ANNOUNCES NATIONAL TRAINING TEAMS FOR 2020-2021 SEASON

Biathlon Canada is excited to announce that 53 athletes from 8 different provinces/territories have been named to one of Biathlon Canada’s National Training Teams for the 2020-2021 season. The four teams are: Senior National Team, Senior Development Team, U24 Development team and U20 Development team.

  1. 1
  2. 3
  3. 4
  4. 5
  5. 42